Airports in India – International and Domestic Airports in India

International and Domestic Airports in India: The Airport Authority of India AAI manages 125 Airports in India, in which 81 domestic airports, 11 international airports, 25 civil enclaves at defence airfields, and 08 custom airports. The Airport Authority of India AAI responsible for creating, maintaining, managing, upgrading airports in India, and works under the Civil Aviation Department.

UDAN – Regional Connectivity Scheme

Ude Desh Ka Aam Nagaik UDAN is a regional connectivity scheme, launched by the Government of India GOI. UDAN aims to develop smaller regional airports to allow common citizens access to aviation services.

Udan scheme is a part of the National Civil Aviation Policy by the Government of India GOI and state government. The duration of the scheme is 10 years.

List of Airports in India

The airports in India are a very important topic in the competitive exam’s GK section. SSC Exam, Bank Exam, railway, insurance department exams, or any other competitive exams include airlines in India in the GK section.

>> Free Study Material<<

International Airports in India Key Points

Check these important points about International Airports in India:

  1. Total Airport in India – 34 operational International Airports
  2. Largest International Airport –  Indira Gandhi International Airport (5495 Acres)
  3. the first international airport in India developed under PPP- Public-Private Partnership Model – Cochin International Airport, Kerala
  4. The first and oldest Airport in India founded in 1928 – Juhu Aerodrome, Mumbai
  5. The smallest airport in India. –  Trichy Airport
  6. 23rd highest commercial airport in the world at 3256 meters- Kushok Bakula Rimpochee, Ladhak

List of International Airport in India

The List of International Airport in India are as follow:

Sr. No.International Airport NameAirport Location
1Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport – BOMMumbai, Maharashtra
2Kempegowda International Airport – BLRBangalore, Karnataka
3Chennai International Airport – MAAChennai, Tamil Nadu
4Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose International Airport – CCUKolkata, West Bengal
5Chaudhary Charan Singh International Airport – LKO Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh
6Sri Guru Ram Dass Jee International Airport – ATQAmritsar, Punjab
7Visakhapatnam International Airport – VTZVisakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh
8Kannur International Airport – CNNKannur, Kerala
9Surat International Airport – STVSurat, Gujarat
10Devi Ahilya Bai Holkar Airport – IDRIndore, Madhya Pradesh
11Cochin International Airport – COK Kochi, Kerala
12Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel International Airport – AMDAhmedabad, Gujarat
13Indira Gandhi International Airport – DELDelhi
14Dabolim Airport – GOIGoa
15Pune Airport – PNQPune, Maharashtra
16Thiruvananthapuram International Airport – TRVThiruvananthapuram, Kerala
17Coimbatore International Airport – JCBCoimbatore, Tamil Nadu
18Calicut International Airport – CCJCalicut, Kerala
19Biju Patnaik International Airport – BBIBhubaneswar, Odisha
20Lokpriya Gopinath Bordoloi International Airport – GAUGuwahati, Assam
21Lal Bahadur Shastri International Airport – VNSVaranasi, Uttar Pradesh
22Rajiv Gandhi International Airport- HYDHyderabad, Telangana
23Tiruchirappalli International Airport – TRZTiruchirappalli, Tamil Nadu
24Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar International Airport – NAGNagpur, Maharashtra
25Sheikhul Aalam International Airport – SXRSrinagar, Jammu, and Kashmir
26Imphal International Airport – IMFImphal, Meghalaya
27Jaipur International Airport – JAIJaipur, Rajasthan
28Madurai Airport – IMXMadurai, Tamil Nadu
29Bagdogra International Airport – IXBSiliguri, West Bengal
30Jay Prakash Narayan International Airport – PATPatna, Bihar
31Mangalore International Airport – IXEMangalore, Karnataka
32Chandigarh International Airport – IXCChandigarh
List of International Airport in India

List of Domestic Airports in India

Below given is the State-wise List of Domestic Airports in India. Candidates are advised to download the Domestic Airport in India PDF for convenience given after the table.  

List of Domestic Airports in India are as follws:

Andaman and Nicobar Islands

  1. Veer Savarkar International Airport

Andhra Pradesh

  1. Kadapa Airport
  2. Vijayawada Airport
  3. Rajahmundry Airport
  4. Tirupati Airport

Arunachal Pradesh

  1. Pasighat Airport


  1. Gaya Airport


  1. Ambikapur Airport
  2. Bilaspur Airport
  3. Swami Vivekananda Airport

Daman and Diu

  1. Diu Airport


  1. Indira Gandhi International Airport


  1. Dibrugarh Airport
  2. Jorhat Airport
  3. Lilabari Airport
  4. Tezpur Airport
  5. Silchar Airport


  1. Vadodara Airport
  2. Bhuj Airport
  3. Kandla Airport
  4. Jamnagar Airport
  5. Porbandar Airport
  6. Rajkot Airport
  7. Bhavnagar Airport


  1. Karnal Airport
  2. Hisar Airport

Himachal Pradesh

  1. Kangra Airport
  2. Kullu-Manali Airport
  3. Shimla Airport

>>Admit Cards<<

Jammu & Kashmir

  1. Jammu Airport


  1. Bokaro Airport
  2. Sonari Airport
  3. Birsa Munda Airport


  1. Bellary Airport
  2. Jakkur Airfield
  3. Belgaum Airport
  4. Mysore Airport
  5. Gulbarga Airport
  6. Hubli Airport


  1. Kollam Airport


  1. Agatti Airport

Madhya Pradesh

  1. Khajuraho Airport
  2. Satna Airport
  3. Jabalpur Airport
  4. Raja Bhoj Airport
  5. Gwalior Airport
  6. Devi Ahilyabai Holkar Airport


  1. Shirdi Airport
  2. Nashik Airport
  3. Yavatmal Airport
  4. Shri Guru Gobind Singh Ji Airport
  5. Chhatrapati Rajaram Maharaj Airport
  6. Juhu Aerodrome
  7. Aurangabad Airport
  8. Solapur Airport
  9. Jalgaon Airport
  10. Akola Airport

Also Read >>> eDistrict UP: Income/Caste/Domicile Certificate


  1. Shillong Airport


  1. Lengpui Airport


  1. Dimapur Airport


  1. Veer Surendra Sai Airport
  2. Jeypore Airport


  1. Puducherry Airport


  1. Bathinda Airport
  2. Pathankot Airport
  3. Sahnewal Airport
  4. Patiala Airport
  5. Adampur Airport


  1. Nal Airport
  2. Kota Airport
  3. Kishangarh Airport
  4. Jodhpur Airport
  5. Maharana Pratap Airport
  6. Jaisalmer Airport


  1. Pakyong Airport

Tamil Nadu

  1. Thoothukudi Airport
  2. Salem Airport


  1. Nadirgul Airport
  2. Begumpet Airport


  1. Maharaja Bir Bikram Airport

Uttar Pradesh

  1. Kanpur Airport
  2. Hindon Airport
  3. Agra Air Force Station
  4. Gorakhpur Airport
  5. Allahabad Airport


  1. Jolly Grant Airport
  2. Naini Saini Airport
  3. Pantnagar Airport

West Bengal

  1. Balurghat Airport
  2. Kazi Nazrul Islam Airport
  3. Behala Airport
  4. Cooch Behar Airport
  5. Panagarh Airport

How many international airports in india?

There are 34 operational International Airports in India.

Which is the Largest International Airport in India?

The Largest International Airport in India is Indira Gandhi International Airport (5495 Acres).


You can subscribe to our website and bookmark our page using (Ctrl+D) FOR LATEST UPDATES REGARDING. By subscribing to our page, we assure you that none of the job alerts will get missed out. 

If you have any queries related to Airports in India 2020, then you can ask in the comment box below, our team will try its best to help you.

Leave a Comment